Nature’s colors & a new pattern (yeah!)

My new camera finally arrived, and just in time too.   I have three more patterns to send off to Knit Picks that need better photo representation.  Did you like the socks photo on the last post?  That was in a one of my favorite colors – Springtime.  Here are some of my first shots with the Nikon P510…

These are the natural colors of the eggs - no dyes of any kind were used. Aren't they beautiful?

 

 

I think that I'd like to see a yarn colorway made of these hues, flecks and all.

Here’s one last one……

 

I also have a new pattern available – The Bilateral Beanie.  It is a double-knit technique pattern, which means (if you didn’t already know) that it is a two-sided thick bit of knitted fabric.  Both sides show a Stockinette st, and I used a self-striping yarn with a yummy, heathery alpaca yarn.  If you haven’t checked out the book, Extreme Double Knitting by Aladair Post-Quinn, well, then…what are you waiting for?  He features step-by-step photos of this wonderful technique.  There is not a clearer book out there.  Can you tell that I was inspired by it?    The pics for the Bilateral Beanie were taken with the phone on my camera.  Not too bad, since I had to balance carefully while climbing up the side of a derelict train car.

 

I am writing this at 1:12 in the wee am…I must get more sleep.  However, I am very excited because one of my Kirigami-style patterns has found a home with Tangled, an online knitting/crochet magazine. Check it out, and I will have some tantalizing, teasing pics (hopefully) before summer.  One last thing to leave you with before I turn to sleep (or into a pumpkin)…I also have two patterns in two upcoming Cooperative Press books. One is a librarian themed book by Sarah Barbour of Rope Knits.

The other pattern is a shawl that incorporates many types of colorwork & some embroidery, for a nautical-themed book by Shannon Okey.  CP is, most probably, my favorite independent publisher.  Be sure to check them out.  In the next couple of months they are going to be exploding with new offerings. I’ve already pre-ordered about three, they are so wonderful; and none are the ones I’m involved with. There will also be a Hitchcock-inspired book, of which I am working on more submission than there may be hours in the day to complete.  I can’t help myself…I just really, really love the films of Alfred Hitchcock

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. gale z
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 08:58:10

    The eggs and the beanie look great! So good to meet you at the class in SB.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

