I love this time of year, mostly.

I’m more of a Autumn-Winter person. I’ve always had a fondness for the crunch of leaves underfoot, and a nippy chill on my nose and ears.  I love the bustle of the season, baking, shopping, decorating, and submitting more designs.  One of my designs found a home (Yeah! happy dance!).  I can’t say much right now, but look for future posts in the late Spring.  Onward goes the season!

One thing I’ve observed about life is that there are those that like sweet, and those that prefer savory.  I am one of the latter group.   Given a choice between dessert, and more steak/supper/whatever – I will usually want more of the savory, tasty things of life.  Example – as a child I would eat lemons as someone else would eat an orange.  Just peel them and eat them.  So you can imagine how excited I was to plant a Meyer lemon tree in our backyard a few years ago.   I swear, they get larger than life each year (maybe from the cross-pollination with nearby grapefruit & oranges)!

I’ve given a few bags away already, and we’ve been eating Lemon Chicken, Lemon Pie, Lemon custard, and on tomorrow’s dinner menu: Pan-fried Fish with Lemon sauce and a wilted Spinach & Fennel Salad.  Here are a few of my go-to books for inspiration:

Besides knitting and cooking, I also have a passion for sewing.  It has a harmony with my knitting, and is a handy skill to have.  This year I’m making a pair of…(sshhh, don’t tell my Mom-in-Law what I’m making for her) pretty flannel pajama bottoms.  We go to the snow in January; so they will be quite cozy, and keep her warm.  The pics make them look a little pepperminty, but the camera didn’t quite capture the various pinks as well as I would have liked.  I found a wonderful pattern from the Scientific Seamstress.  It is for customizable pants, pajamas, etc…  She really is quite genius!  The possibilities are endless, and they come out just the right size every time!  Here’s the fabric:

Leave a Reply

