Whew..where did the Summer go?

Summer was busy, busy, busy..and things were very quiet here. This week we started up our home school again, and are back in a productive routine (5th grade & 11th grade).  For some reason I get more done when multi-tasking our way through school.
Here’s the news: I submitted a Kirigami pattern to Interweave Knits for their Spring 2012 issue, and I’m still waiting to hear from them. The longer you wait, the better your chances are..so I guess 8 weeks so far is a good sign.
My fingers have knit like crazy for shop samples for our upcoming class sessions, and the inspiration is flowing. New patterns that I’m working on – an asymmetric tunic vest with multi-textured yarns with , lacey  mitred construction and very interesting pockets – all in Kirigami-style. Also coming up this Fall – a semi-Kirigami cowl neck asymmetrc sweater. Do you see a pattern?  Swatches & pics to follow soon…
Right now the time crunch is the countdown to Vogue Knitting Live LA. Come see me at booth #49 (first row from the door, to the right, all the way to the end). It is our first big trade show (really our first ever), and it has been very exciting planning the booth design, and products for our shop, Anacapa Fine Yarns. We’ve opened up an online store for the kits that we will be selling in preparation, and do be sure (if you are coming) to check out my demonstration in the Marketplace Center on Vertical Cabling (as seen on the Kanagawa Cowl). I’ll let you know, when I know, what time I’ve been assigned. Thanks for checking in…Karin

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy Lothes
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 11:43:47

    Hi Karin,
    How have you been? Your website looks great! I’m definitely adding it to my favorites. You are always an inspiration to me. I love your work.
    I was at the store and saw the blue and off white shawlette that you made. I love the colors you chose it looks Victorian to me. It’s beautiful. Do you remember the name of the blue that you used? I bought Bloomsbury but after taking a closer look with Terry I think your’s was a darker shade of blue. I’ll find a great use for the one I bought but I’d love to know the name of your shade. Maybe I’ll stop by the store tomorrow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

