What to do when life gets busy…

Wow, how did it get to be almost the end of April.  In the words of the inept magician Professor Hinkle (see Frosty the Snowman), “…busy, busy, busy!”  I’ve been knitting like a madwoman on shop samples in preparation for our new season of classes at Anacapa Fine Yarns (newsletter comes out today! yeah!).  In the last 3 1/2 weeks, I’ve knit two garments (Knitting Pure & Simple – Henley T-shirt and the Basic Shell), two pairs of socks, finished s couple of toddler garments, and a few other items to be finished by Sat.  Check out the new classes being offered if you find yourself in the Ventura, CA area this summer.  I love knitting in the summer.  Some people take a break, but I find knitting an all-season activity.

Also,  The Koke Garden Cardi is currently with test knitters, and I’ve gotten some really helpful feedback.  The mini-kirigami  will be taught, as well as Mirabella, and the Koke Garden Cardi.   I’ve had a two socks on two circular needles pattern (Anacapa Bottom Flappers) that I’ve been teaching from, but I’ve written a 1st sock pattern for toe-up that is extra comfy with a garter toe (pattern coming soon), also with a flap on the bottom where you need more padding.    I’m really digging the Henley – I worked it up in Berocco Linsey; and the Basic Shell was previously worked in Ty-Dy, but I reknit it in Misti Alpaca Pima Cotton/Silk in a really exciting blue/multi.  I’m looking forward to the end of class, so I can wear them.  They are perfect for Summer.

I’m also teaching a Painting with Fiber class – exploring needlefelting; and a Dying for Yarn class where we will handpaint our own yarns.  I encourage the use of photos or anything that will inspire a color palette, and we will blend to make our own unique colorways.

Late this evening I will post some pics and links to my patterns – I’m still learning this blog thing.

Thanks for staying tuned,

Karin

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Sauers
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 19:40:41

    Just moved to the Ventura area and wondred into Anacapa Yarns. What a great shop. Very unassuming from the outside until you walk through the door! Wow-amazing yarns and great people inside!! Just missed your mini Kirigami jacket-shoot! Will watch for it the next around.

    Reply

    • knittingkirigami
      Jun 05, 2011 @ 23:09:06

      Well, welcome to Ventura! I’m glad you’ve found our shop. I’ve been there for 6 years, and we’re celebrating the shop’s 7th anniversary in a couple of weeks. It’s a wonderful community. People come in just to sit and knit. They come for hours, take a break for lunch, and then return to knit some more. If you come in on a Sat., you’ll find me there. I’m either teaching or working in the shop. It’s my home away from home.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

