..with a little help from a friend-(ly bit of fabric)

Welcome to the next stop on the Hitch! blog tour.  I love, I mean really LOVE suspenseful black-and-white movies, and especially the work of Alfred Hitchcock.  If the drama of monochrome wasn’t enough, the slightly off-center camera work adds to the feeling of unease – love it!  When the call-out came out from Stepannie Tallent (author of California Revival), I didn’t just send in one idea.  I sent in 5!  It came down to two, and she let me pick my favorite – Our Gal Midge.  Today I will share with you a fun tip I use to keep my buttons supported on my knits, and I have a wonderful giveaway from my favorite stitch marker maker, too!

Image

It is a one-piece, top-down contiguous shoulder women’s polo shirt, based on Barbara Bel Geddes character in the movie, Vertigo.

Image

I knew that there would be plenty of glamour items submitted (I had submitted a couple myself), but I really loved how comfortable and confident her character was, and wanted to design something that every woman can wear, everyday.

It is worked in fingering wt yarn  – Opal from The Woolen Rabbit – awesome stuff with merino, silk, and cashmere on US4 needles.  It feels so soft, perfect for next-to-skin garments.  Neither I nor my model wanted to take it off so I could send it on to Stephannie.

One feature in particular that I love is the support and pop of color that a strip of fabric lends to a buttonband.  This garment is comfortable, but also very plain; so a little drama at the neckline is welcome. I’m making another Our Gal Midge, because I will be teaching it at our shop (Anacapa Fine Yarns, Ventura, CA) in February, and will be hosting a KAL in our Hitch! Ravelry Group in March.  This time I picked a lovely mustardy color, and I was able to order a fabulous fat quarter of dramatic fabric from Spoonflower that will really add a bit of pop.  Here’s how I do it:

1. Measure out a strip of fabric (dimensions per pattern instructions) -

Image

2. Press the edges in -

Image

Image

I don’t have a buttonband ready on my new one yet, but here’s an idea of what it would look like….(continue on to step 3 below)Image

3. Sew fabric to right side of right knitted buttonband, then sew down buttons matching up with the  buttonholes on opposite band (see original Midge) -

hitch button options (1)

I used this same technique for a sideways-worked cap – The Bay Waters Watchcap:

Bay Waters Watchcap (3)

Bay Waters Watchcap (6)

Bay Waters Watchcap-(edt) (11)

It’s been over a year since I’ve seen my original sample, but this week we will be reunited!  Our Gal Midge is part of the Hitch! trunk show, starting at our shop,  Anacapa Fine Yarns – this week through December 7th, our annual Holiday Party.  We will have about 12 samples from the book – gloves, caps, sweaters, socks, cowls…a little of everything, and copies of the book for sale as well.  Make sure you drop in.

As a bonus treat, my favorite stitch marker maker, The Winemaker’s Sister, has made a special collection of non-snag stitch markers called, Dial M for Murder, just for Hitch!

Dial M for Murder st mkr pic2

Is it wrong to love the meat cleaver?  These come in three sizes to fit all your needles, your choice.  To win a set of these beauties yourself,  just leave a comment below telling me about your favorite Hitchcock film, or favorite Hitch! pattern.  After midnight, on December 10th I will use a random number generator to pick a winner from the comments.  I couldn’t wait.  I had to order 2 sets right away, so they are also available for purchase.

Dial M for Murder st mkr pic

Don’t forget to visit the next stop on the blog tour…..11/22013: A B-ewe-tiful Design

9/28/2013: Sunset Cat Designs
10/5/2013: Knitting Kninja
New! 10/05/13: Knit One, Heart Too Podcast
10/7/2013: Herrlichkeiten
10/8/2013: Knit and Travel
10/9/2013: Knit & Knag Designs
10/10/2013: Wooly Wonka Fibers
10/11/2013: Verdant Gryphon
10/15/2013: Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches
10/16/2013: Rewolluzza
10/21/2013: Knitwear Designs by Carolyn Noyes
10/22/2013: Peacefully Knitting
10/23/2013: Dark Matter Knits
10/24/2013: Turnknit: Dani Berg Designs
10/25/2013: SweetGeorgia Yarns
10/28/2013: doviejay knits
10/29/2013: Triona Designs
10/30/2013: Tactile Fiber Arts
11/4/2013: A Knitter’s Life
11/5/2013: Catchloops
11/6/2013: Yarn On The House
11/07/2013: Ramblings
11/12/2013: Hazel Knits
11/13/2013: Knitcircus
11/19/2013: indigodragonfly
11/9/2013: Fyberspates
11/25/2013: knittingkirigami
11/22013: A B-ewe-tiful Design

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Savannagal
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 09:26:10

    My favorite Hitchcock movie is The Birds. I’m a bird lover at heart, but I have to say that movie scared the bejeezus out of me as a kid. I really want to make the Francie Scarf. It is so lovely. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Reply

  2. florapie
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 09:36:00

    This blog tour has prompted me to re-watch my favourite Hitchcock movie, North by Northwest, and now I’m thinking I’ll need to go back and see many others. So thanks to Stephanie and all the designers for the inspiration, and thanks for your great fabric buttonband trick too!

    Reply

  3. lindarumsey
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 10:03:53

    Psycho is my favourite. I recently re-watched it with my teenage son and it’s still as scary as ever (even though you never forget the ending!)
    lindarumsey on Ravelry

    Reply

  4. Heather/winemakerssister
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 14:59:03

    {Obviously} I don’t want to be in the running for the stitch markers, but I just wanted to thank Karin for the great idea for the set! I love this pattern and adore the little bit of fabulous fabric on the buttonband.

    Oh, my favorite Hitchcock film is “The Trouble With Harry.” The young Shirley MacLaine is great! And I have a great memory of my son and I watching it in our cabin in northern Ontario when he was about 8 or 9.

    Reply

  5. Carmen
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 17:18:43

    My favorite is To Catch a Thief – Cary Grant and Grace Kelly are so elegant together!

    Reply

  6. christine5572
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 22:11:32

    Rear Window is my favorite. Congratulations on your successful design. Very exciting stuff!

    Reply

  7. Carrie
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 06:20:05

    It’s really hard to pick one, but I have to go with Rear Window. North by Northwest is a close second. It occurs to me I haven’t ever had my husband watch them with me so we might need to do a movie night!

    Reply

  8. Shelley B
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 08:55:39

    I loved The Birds, and I still get a little nervous when I see a bunch of them gathering…

    On your sweater, which I adore and hope to make one of these days, I noticed that colorful button band and thought it might be ribbon – love that it’s fabric because there’s so much more of a color selection to go with the buttons and yarn – thanks for the tutorial!!

    Oh, and I love Winemaker’s Sister – she makes the cutest stitch markers!

    Reply

  9. MelodyJ
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 01:24:52

    I like North by Northwest.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: » Giveaways–December 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

