Who doesn’t want a cozy blanket for the neck?

Welcome to my part of the world!  While we may not get the extreme temps of other places (average temp range is mid-50s to sweltering heat wave of mid-80s), we do need something comfy to keep the coastal chill off the neck.  My inspiration for the Chumash Cowl came from our home school field trips to the local park & museum, where docents would give us hands-on lessons about our local tribe.  I watched as my children learned about the early peoples of our area – what they ate, how they lived, and even say the toys they made from naturally seeping tar and broken shells (a form of dice).  (P.S. if you’ve ever read The Island of the Blue Dolphins, then you’ve read about a lost, local tribe from San Nicolas Island off the coast of Santa Barbara, CA, and the main character is based on a true story of the Lone Woman of Ghalas At.)

Image

Image

I love the woven texture of baskets; how one color is drawn vertically over horizontal ridges, so I was super excited to be a part of the Holla Knits! Accessories 2013 collection!  I applied this woven-basket idea to my cowl by wrapping stitches 2 & 3 times, and slipping them over garter ridges of a contrasting color over multiple rows.

Image

I think that the reverse side of this application is just as intriguing, so working it as a Möbius just seemed natural.  Möbius knitting starts from the center and is knit out in a figure-8.  I love how quickly this knits up in bulky yarn, and it is long enough to wear as a scarf, or double it up as a super cozy, comfortable cowl.  You can even wear one layer of it over your ears like a hood, while the other twist keeps the chill of your neck.

Image

A special bind-off that adds a yarn over creates the look of a blanket st, often used in embroidery.  It is also a stretchy bind off.  I’ve made two of these and I’m ready to cast-on another.  I just have to decide who I’m going to give my next neck-blankey to?

Image

Be sure to stop in with Knits in Class tomorrow for the next stop on the blog tour.

Nov 12 – Wattsolak
Nov 13 – Mari Knits
Nov 14 – Knitters Pride – Subscriber exclusive giveaway
Nov 15 – Emily Greene Blue – Subscriber exclusive giveaway

Nov 18 – knittingkirigami
Nov 19 – Knits in Class – Subscriber exclusive giveaway
Nov 20 – Claire Sandow Designs
Nov 21 – Baah Yarns – Yarn giveaway
Nov 22 – Jill Draper Makes Stuff – Subscriber exclusive giveaway

Nov 25 – Lee Meredith – 2 subscriber exclusive giveaways
Nov 26 – Wooly Wonka Fibers – Subscriber exclusive giveaway
Nov 27 – Bumblebirch – Yarn giveaway

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 17:37:20

    I like all of the designs in the latest accessories collection, but this is my favorite. I love the woven/ reversible look of it. I am really interested to see how it takes shape.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

